AAHAM offers multiple levels of certification that are appropriate to professionals throughout the revenue cycle. Below is a brief summary of the various certifications offered. Please visit the national AAHAM web site for complete details

Certified Revenue Cycle Executive

This exam is intended for all senior/executive leaders in the revenue cycle industry, to help equip you for strategic management of the business. This certification possesses the highest level of difficulty combining content knowledge of the business with critical thinking and communication skills. In the healthcare revenue cycle industry, the Executive Revenue Cycle Certification is comparable to earning a CPA or passing the bar exam.

Certified Revenue Cycle Professional

This exam is intended for all supervisors and managers in the revenue cycle industry, to help equip you to effectively manage key aspects of the revenue cycle. This certification requires in-depth knowledge functional areas including registration (front desk), billing, credit & collections and revenue cycle management.

Certified Revenue Integrity Professional

The Certified Revenue Integrity Professional (CRIP) exam is intended for anyone in the revenue cycle industry to help ensure that facilities effectively manage their charge master, and bill and document appropriately for all services rendered to a patient. This certification requires an in-depth, working knowledge of various revenue cycle areas and proper skill sets needed to increase revenue and reimbursement for facilities. It also ensures that proper charging takes place to maintain compliance within the insurance payer programs.

Certified Revenue Cycle Specialist

This exam is intended for revenue cycle staff with responsibilities in patient access, billing, account resolution, denial management, collections, cash posting, customer service, and self-pay collections. The exam focuses on knowledge required in revenue cycle functional areas including registration (front desk), billing, and credit & collections.

Certified Compliance Technician

This exam is intended for all revenue cycle staff who must meet employers’ annual compliance training requirements. The compliance exam covers such topics as Fraud and Abuse, the U.S. Sentencing Guidelines, HIPAA, Administrative Sanctions, and RACs. You can use your CCT Certification towards satisfying Centers for Medicare & Medicaid (CMS), The Joint Commission (TJC) and Det Norske Veritas (DNV) Requirements